Muslims think that if whey is a milk based ingredient then it has to be Halal, but this is not true. There are two kinds of whey, one is sweet or rennet whey and the other is acid whey. Acid whey is obtained during the making of acid type cheese such as cottage cheese. Sweet or rennet whey is used more in food products then acid whey. Sweet whey or rennet whey is a by-product of rennet cheese such as cheddar cheese or Mozzarella cheese. Whey is a portion of milk remaining after coagulation and removal of curd. Whey is Halal only if the Halal starter culture bacteria, Halal medium on which starter culture bacteria are grown (Starter culture bacteria are Halal if they are obtained from milk source not meat source, and media on which these starter culture bacteria are grown. These requirements can only obtained if the cheese and whey are Halal or Kosher certified (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements). A Halal or Kosher symbol (which meet the Islamic dietary requirements) appears on a food package containing whey indicating that it is manufactured under Halal or Kosher supervision. MCG considers Lactose Halal only if it is Halal or Kosher certified.
The nucleic acid monomer is called a nucleotide and is used as a unit of strand length (abbreviated to nt). Each nucleotide is formed of three parts: a sugar molecule, a negatively charged ion called a phosphate , and a compound called a nucleobase ("base" for short). Polymerization is achieved as the sugar of one nucleotide bonds to the phosphate of the next nucleotide in the chain, which forms a sugar-phosphate backbone for the nucleic acid strand. A key point is that the nucleotides of a specific type of nucleic acid always contain the same sugar and phosphate molecules, and they differ only in their choice of base. Thus, one strand of a nucleic acid can be differentiated from another based solely on the order of its bases; this ordering of bases defines a nucleic acid's primary structure .